work to be done

So after some studying and what not I have a plan on what I’m going to do:

  • pull the derailleurs and gear shifters.  This bike is going to be a single speed.
  • take off one of the chainrings – ideally I’d keep the small one and be able to use a smaller rear cog – that’s the hope.
  • keep the wheels and tires
  • replace the handlebars with a set of touring style bars.  This will require new brake levers.

Originally I had thought of replacing the wheels and cranks with a conversion kit.  Then the online store increase the price by 30%.  At that point I’d be better off buying a new bike and stripping parts off of the frame.  That’s the opposite of what I wanted to do, so I’m not going to do it.

Instead I’m taking a minimalist approach – keep the rear gear cluster and just remove parts that aren’t needed.  I could go with a single cog at the back down the road (pun intended) but the weight differential is minimal so why incur the cost.  So long as I can get the chain lined up neatly I should be fine.

Next steps are to source handlebars and levers and get them in transit.  Then it’s time to get out the bike and some wrenches to strip some parts off.

 

Leave a Reply

